• Discover Chalke Valley, Rushmore Farm, Tinkley Bottom, Tollard Royal, Wiltshire, SP5 5QA   Tel: 01725 517417

One of the best things about the Chalke Valley is its tranquillity - it remains far from the hustle and bustle of ordinary life.

Chalke Valley River

 However there is still lots to see and explore.

Here is a taster

  • the grave of Anthony Eden 1st Earl of Avon, who served as Prime Minster from 1955 to 1957.  His last home was Alvediston Manor; an 18th century house located not far from the church of St Mary were he his buried.
  • the early Iron Age hill fort of Winklebury Hill, also known as Vespasian’s Camp.
  • The church of St John the Baptist, Bishopstone was built during the 12th century and extensively altered in the mid 14th century, it is a large cruciform church with a perpendicular central tower and several interesting monuments.  It also boasts a stained glass Saint with two left feet and bullet holes in the West door – a remnant of the Civil War!

  • The gardens at Manor House, Stratford Tony
  • Church of the Holy Trinity, Bowerchalke  dates from the 13th century, Nobel Prize winning novelist William Golding, author of Lord of the Flies, lived in the village and is buried in the churchyard.
  • Broadchalke - At the heart of the village is an award-winning café and stores, in a converted chapel, and All Saints Church dating from the 13th century.  Famous photographer, film and theatre costume designer Cecil Beaton, who resided at Reddish House in the village, is buried in the churchyard.
  • Coombe Bissett Down has sweeping views, swooping curves and steep slopes patterned by medieval terraces. In the spring and summer the slopes are ablaze with flowers and butterflies. The reserve contains fields that used to be sown with crops but have been restored to down land for the benefit of birds and invertebrates.
  • Coombe Bissett  village shop and post office
  • The delightful church of St Martin of Tours, Fifield Bavant was erected in the 13th century and the flint and stone walls are almost entirely original, as are the stone cross on the east gable and the lancet window at the north end of the chancel.