The parish of Bishopstone is 5 miles south west of Salisbury with the River Ebble flowing west to east through the middle. The parish contains six ancient townships, each running back from the river, Bishopstone, Netton and Flamston lie to the north of the river, and Throope, Faulston and Croucheston opposite them to the south.
Once part of a larger area, the parish took the name Bishopstone in the later Middle Ages, the name means ‘Bishop’s Farm’ as at one time the manor belonged to the Bishop of Winchester.
Grim’s Ditch, a territorial earthworks built by Iron Age peoples c 300BC, forms the whole of the southern boundary of the parish. The Roman Road from Dorchester to Old Sarum runs through the parish, it enters Bishopstone from Knighton High Wood and is clearly visible for one mile.
The church of St John the Baptist was built during the 12th century and extensively altered in the mid 14th century, it is a large cruciform church with a perpendicular central tower and several interesting monuments. It also boasts a stained glass Saint with two left feet and bullet holes in the West door – a remnant of the Civil War!
Like the neighbouring parishes historically residents of Bishopstone worked in farming, however shoe making began in the village in the early 19th century when Thomas Barter set up a business in a cottage. His business soon expanded and by 1869 he had 17 cottages for his workers. His son Isaac continued to develop the business until there was a shop and boot factory making agricultural boots for a wide area around Salisbury, but the business closed in 1918.